Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

National Science Advisory Board for Biosecurity (NSABB) Meeting

January 23, 2020 - January 24, 2020

The National Science Advisory Board for Biosecurity (NSABB) will convene 23-24 January 2020 in Bethesda, Md.

The meeting will be open to the public, with attendance limited to space available. The meeting will also be videocast.

January 23: 12:30 PM – 5 PM Eastern
January 24: 9 AM – 2:30 PM Eastern

The purpose of this meeting is to discuss considerations regarding security and public transparency when sharing information about research involving enhanced potential pandemic pathogens; as well as other business of the Board.

If you plan to attend the meeting in person please pre-register HERE.
Individuals in attendance may also register onsite on the day of the meeting.
Draft Agenda will be posted when available.


  • Day 1 – Link will be available on January 23, 2020
  • Day 2 – Link will be available on January 24, 2020

Please visit the website for more information:

Current Voting Board Members

Margie D. Lee, DVM, PhD*
Professor and Head, Department of Biomedical Sciences and Pathobiology
Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
Virginia Tech

Stephen S. Morse, PhD*
Director, Infectious Disease Epidemiology Certificate Program
Professor of Epidemiology
Mailman School of Public Health
Columbia University

Jean L. Patterson, PhD
Professor, Virology and Immunology Chair, BSL-4 Task Force
Texas Biomedical Research Institute

Rozanne M. Sandri-Goldin, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Microbiology and
Molecular Genetics
University of California Irvine School of Medicine

Kenneth Bernard, MD
RADM, U.S. Public Health Service (Ret.)
Former Special Assistant to the President for Biodefense, Homeland Security Council, White House
Former Special Adviser for Health and Security on the National Security Council

Craig E. Cameron, PhD
Jeffrey Houpt Distinguished Investigator
Chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill School of Medicine

Mark Denison, MD
Professor and Chair of Pediatrics
Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

John D. Grabenstein, RPh, PhD
Senior Medical Director, Adult Vaccines
Merck Vaccine Division
Merck & Co., Inc.

Marie-Louise Hammarskjöld, MD, PhD
Charles H. Ross Jr. Professor and Professor of Microbiology, Immunology, and Cancer Biology
Associate Director, Myles H. Thaler Center
University of Virginia School of Medicine

James W. LeDuc, PhD
Director, Galveston National Laboratory
Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
University of Texas Medical Branch


January 23, 2020
January 24, 2020
Event Categories:
, ,


National Institutes of Health (NIH)
View Organizer Website


Hyatt Regency Bethesda
One Bethesda Metro Center
Bethesda, MD 20814 United States
+ Google Map
301 657 1234
View Venue Website