Loading Events

« All Events

G20 Summit Rio 2024

November 18 - November 19

The G20 Leaders’ Summit is scheduled for 18-19 November 2024, in Rio de Janeiro, with the presence of the leaders of the 19 member countries, plus the African Union and the European Union.

The G20 brings together the countries with the largest economies in the world. The member states meet annually to discuss economic, political and social initiatives. The group defines itself as the main forum for international economic cooperation.

The G20 countries account for half the world’s land mass, two-thirds of the world’s total population, and a staggering 85% or more of global GDP. These imply both a large magnitude of health burden on the one hand and a depth of experience and strong base of resources on the other. The G20 Health Working Group was established under the German Presidency in 2017 to develop a shared international agenda on issues such as strengthening health-care systems, reducing malnutrition, health-crisis management, and scaling up the fight against pandemics; these are India’s domestic priorities too.

In addition to the summit, more than 100 meetings of working groups and task forces will comprise the G20 event, both face-to-face and virtual, at technical and ministerial level, in the host cities of Brasil’s five regions. The highlight will be the Summit in Rio de Janeiro.

The participating countries are Argentina, Australia, Brasil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Republic of South Africa, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Kingdom and the United States of America, African Union and European Union. In addition, invited guest countries and international organizations participate in the G20. Media reports indicate the Presidents of Russia, China and Mexico will not be in attendance. State leaders from the other member states will likely attend.

The G20 troika system was officially adopted at the Cannes Summit (France) in 2011 as the framework for steering the G20 process. The “troika” consists of the current, previous, and next G20 presidencies and the three members cooperate with one another in preparing for the G20 Summit. During Brasil’s presidency, we will work closely together with India (2023 presidency) and South Africa (2025 presidency).

Please visit the G20 Brasil 2024 website for more information on the full summit agenda.



November 18
November 19


View Organizer Website